cd /news/artificial-intelligence/openai-brings-chatgpt-voice-into-wor… · home topics artificial-intelligence article
[ARTICLE · art-138573] src=runtimewire.com ↗ pub= topic=artificial-intelligence verified=true sentiment=· neutral

OpenAI brings ChatGPT Voice into Work, with access to connected apps

OpenAI announced in a September 23rd post on X that ChatGPT Voice is now available inside ChatGPT Work on web and mobile, letting users speak instructions that draw on connected email, calendar and Slack tools and run on the GPT-6 Astra, Sol and Luna models. The integration combines spoken conversation, connected work data and Work's multistep task environment, with access varying by plan — TechCrunch reported Plus and Pro users get Work on mobile while Free and Go users receive plugins and connected apps. OpenAI's post did not specify plan-by-plan rollout, per-app permission handling, or which tasks require confirmation, leaving workspace administrators' app and data controls as the governing constraint.

by read3 min views1 publishedSep 23, 2026
OpenAI brings ChatGPT Voice into Work, with access to connected apps
Image: Runtimewire (auto-discovered)

The September 23rd update pairs voice with GPT-6 models and workplace tools, extending ChatGPT Work to web and mobile.

        By [Ryan Merket](https://runtimewire.com/author/ryan-merket)
        · Published 

Primary source: [X](https://x.com/OpenAI/status/2102808325742322002)

Why it matters #

Voice can now serve as an entry point to ChatGPT Work's connected apps and task workflows, putting more weight on model reliability, account permissions and user approval.

OpenAI is bringing ChatGPT Voice into ChatGPT Work on web and mobile, where users can speak to the assistant while it uses connected email, calendar and Slack tools. In a September 23rd post on X, OpenAI said Voice can use those plugins, run on GPT-6 Astra, Sol and Luna, and handle Work tasks such as creating documents, presentations, websites and spreadsheets.

https://x.com/OpenAI/status/2102808325742322002 The move joins three parts of ChatGPT that had been available in separate combinations: spoken conversation, connected work data and Work's multistep task environment. Users can now give a spoken instruction in Work and have ChatGPT draw on tools such as email, calendars and Slack while producing a work output. OpenAI's ChatGPT Work guidance describes Work as an agent for longer assignments and finished deliverables, with access governed by the tools and permissions available in the selected experience.

The model lineup is also recent. OpenAI's release notes introduced GPT-6 Sol and Luna in Work and Codex on September 22nd. GPT-6 Astra, which OpenAI announced on September 3rd, is positioned for complex work involving computer use, coding and multistep tasks. OpenAI's post puts all three models inside the Voice experience, though the models users can access depend on their plan and workspace settings.

OpenAI is pushing Voice past the familiar use of dictation and spoken answers. A spoken request to summarize a Slack discussion or turn calendar and email context into a document could start a task that previously required a typed prompt and a switch into Work. That reduces friction at the point of giving instructions; it does not remove the need to check what the assistant produces or which connected data it uses.

Access will vary by plan. TechCrunch reported on the rollout that Plus and Pro users can use Work on mobile for tasks such as creating documents, drafting email and summarizing Slack messages, while Free and Go users receive access to plugins and connected apps. The same report described voice-driven access to Work as the new part of the release. OpenAI's post itself does not specify the plan-by-plan rollout.

The permission layer remains important because a voice command can lead to actions in accounts that contain private or company information. OpenAI's Work instructions say tasks can for user input, sign-in or confirmation. Workspace administrators also control which apps, data and actions are available. Connecting Voice to those systems makes hands-free task initiation more practical, while leaving access rules and approvals as constraints on what the assistant can do.

OpenAI has not described in its post how the experience handles each app's individual permissions, which tasks require confirmation, or whether all three models are available across every supported plan. The announcement establishes the product direction: Voice can now initiate work that draws on connected services, not just answer questions aloud. The practical test will be how reliably the assistant moves from spoken instruction to a usable document or completed task without exceeding the user's intent or workplace permissions.

── more in #artificial-intelligence 4 stories · sorted by recency
── more on @openai 3 stories trending now
sponsored brought to you by zahid.host 4,200+ EU-deployed projects
reading about agents? ship yours in a single git push.

Run your AI side-project on zahid.host

EU-based hosting, git-push deploys, automatic HTTPS, no cold starts. Free tier with a custom domain — perfect for shipping the agent you just read about.

$git push zahid main
Live at https://your-agent.zahid.host
Get free account → Pricing
from €0/mo · no card required
LIVE [news/openai-brings-chatgp…] indexed:0 read:3min 2026-09-23 ·