cd /news/ai-products/chatgpt-now-caps-paid-accounts-per-c… · home › topics › ai-products › article
[ARTICLE · art-162041] src=explainx.ai ↗ pub= topic=ai-products verified=true sentiment=· neutral

ChatGPT Now Caps Paid Accounts Per Card and Device: What the Limit Means

OpenAI now caps how many paid ChatGPT subscriptions can be tied to a single payment card or device, per a Help Center article titled "Understanding card and device limits in ChatGPT," with The Decoder reporting the change on November 1, 2026. The limits apply to ChatGPT Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 plans but not to Free, Business, Enterprise or Edu, and affected users see "Too many subscriptions associated with this card or device. We can't complete this purchase." at checkout or "Device limit reached" at sign-in; OpenAI does not publish the actual numeric limits. The Decoder interpreted the move as steering users away from stacking cheap plans toward extra credits, an interpretation OpenAI's page does not state, while OpenAI frames the checks as "privacy and security protections.

by read8 min views1 publishedNov 1, 2026
ChatGPT Now Caps Paid Accounts Per Card and Device: What the Limit Means
Image: Explainx (auto-discovered)

OpenAI now limits how many paid ChatGPT accounts can be tied to one payment card or one device. According to a Help Center article titled Understanding card and device limits in ChatGPT, too many subscriptions on the same card or device can block a new purchase, and a separate cap decides how many paid accounts one device may use. The Decoder reported the change on November 1, 2026 and read it as a push away from stacking cheap plans and toward extra credits.

The practical effect: if you have been running two or three Plus accounts to get more Codex and ChatGPT usage, some of them may stop working on your laptop.

TL;DR: the card and device limits at a glance #

Question Answer (per OpenAI's Help Center)
What is limited? Paid subscriptions per payment card, and paid accounts used per device
Which plans count? ChatGPT Go, Plus, Pro 100, Pro 200, Pro 500
Which plans do not count? Free, Business, Enterprise, Edu
What error do I see? Checkout: "Too many subscriptions associated with this card or device. We can't complete this purchase." Sign-in: "Device limit reached"
What are the actual limits? Not published
Does logging out help? Not guaranteed
Do credits or resets lift the block? No
Can I get a refund? Yes, via the cancel-and-refund option for affected subscriptions

What OpenAI actually says #

The Help Center page frames the limits as part of ChatGPT's "privacy and security protections". It describes two separate checks.

First, a card check at purchase. If too many subscriptions are associated with the same card or device, checkout can be refused. OpenAI notes this is different from a bank decline. The page also says shared cards can hit the limit even when each person uses their own device.

Second, a device check on use. The page says ChatGPT "limits how many paid accounts you can use on one device". When you see Device limit reached, you cannot use that paid account on this device. OpenAI adds that you may see the warning at sign-in, or be signed out after a later check, even if the purchase succeeded and the account worked at first. That last detail matters: a second subscription can appear to work for a while and then stop.

OpenAI also says device limits are separate from the number of accounts signed in at the same time, and separate from account switching limits, which it documents in a different article on using multiple accounts.

Why would OpenAI add this now? #

OpenAI's page gives a security framing and nothing more. The Decoder's reading is commercial: the people most likely to hit the cap are those who juggled several low-priced flat-rate subscriptions to multiply usage, and the page steers them to credits on an existing account instead. That is an interpretation by the outlet, not an OpenAI statement, so weigh it accordingly.

The context fits a pattern we have tracked all year. Limits on coding-agent usage have been the pressure point on every major lab, and each change has pushed heavy users toward either higher tiers or metered billing:

- [Codex Plus and the 5-hour limit's return](https://explainx.ai/blog/codex-plus-5-hour-limit-returns-chatgpt-work-august-2026) covers another allowance change.
- Our [Claude usage limits timeline](https://explainx.ai/blog/claude-usage-limits-2026-timeline-explained) shows Anthropic going through the same cycle.

The new rule is different in kind. Those earlier changes adjusted how much one account gets. This one restricts how many accounts one person can run, which is a direct answer to the multi-account workaround.

What changes for you #

If you run one paid account

Almost certainly nothing. The limits target many subscriptions per card or device. A single Plus or Pro account on your own card and devices should not trigger either message.

If you run several paid accounts

Expect friction. Possible outcomes based on the Help Center text:

  1. A new purchase is blocked at checkout on a card already linked to several subscriptions.
  2. An existing paid account shows Device limit reached when you sign in on a device already used by other paid accounts.
  3. An account that worked yesterday signs you out after a later check.

OpenAI's listed remedies are to use the options on an account you already have, sign in to another permitted account you own, or cancel and request a refund. For subscriptions billed through ChatGPT or Google Play, the cancellation flow starts the refund. For Apple purchases, you cancel and request the refund directly through Apple.

If you share a card with family or a team

The page explicitly says a shared card can hit the checkout limit even if everyone uses a separate device. If a household pays for several accounts on one card, you may need separate cards or a move to a workspace plan, since Business, Enterprise and Edu do not count toward the limit. Check pricing and terms first: our coverage of ChatGPT Business premium seat pricing shows those plans cost more per seat and are meant for organizations.

Credits: the path OpenAI is pointing to #

For more usage, the page tells you to check what is available on an account you already use: eligible credit purchases or usage resets, found under Settings > Usage in ChatGPT or Usage & Billing in the Codex app. OpenAI describes credits as paying for eligible usage after included limits are exhausted. It says they do not unlock models your plan cannot access, combine subscriptions, or transfer usage between accounts. Availability depends on account, plan, region and feature. So credits are metered top-ups, not a way to merge what several subscriptions would have given you. Whether that is cheaper than a second flat-rate plan depends on how heavy your use is, and OpenAI has not published a calculator for it. If you rely on Codex all day, price a week of real usage before deciding.

What is claimed versus what is verified #

  • Verified in OpenAI's own Help Center: the two error messages, the covered plans, the exemptions, that logging out does not guarantee a slot, and that credits do not clear a block.
  • Not stated by OpenAI: the actual card and device caps, an effective date, and any motivation beyond privacy and security.
  • Existing subscriptions: the Help Center FAQ mentions an "existing-subscription exception" for subscriptions bought before the restrictions take effect, without detailing it.
  • Interpretation: The Decoder's view that this is revenue-driven is an editorial reading.

The Help Center page showed an "Updated" stamp of two days before our check, so the policy has been live at least briefly. Wording may change; recheck the page if you are affected.

How to avoid getting locked out #

  1. Consolidate to one paid account per person where you can, and keep a note of which card pays for which plan.
  2. If you manage several accounts for work and personal use, consider whether a workspace plan fits your team, since those plans sit outside the device count.
  3. Do not buy a new subscription on a device that already shows a warning; you may be refunded, but you lose time.
  4. If you see Device limit reached on an account you rely on, sign in to another account you own, or contact Support from the article's steps before the next billing date.
  5. If you are a developer who just wants more Codex throughput, look at credits, or compare other tools. Our Codex, Claude and Cursor usage-limit comparison is a starting point.

None of this is a security concern for you as a user. If you do worry about what coding agents can do with the credentials and sessions on your device, a tool like AgentBeam, the agent security platform from the explainx.ai team, is built to stop agents before they take dangerous actions.

What developers and subscribers are asking #

Is this a ban on sharing accounts? The article does not use that word. It describes limits tied to cards and devices, not to who you are.

Does it affect the API? The page is about ChatGPT subscriptions. API billing is a separate system, and nothing in the article covers it.

Will limits rise? Unknown. OpenAI has not published the numbers, so we cannot say whether they are fixed.

Is it legal to pay for several accounts? Nothing in the page says buying several subscriptions is prohibited. It says the system may block a purchase or a device. Read OpenAI's terms for anything beyond that.

Why it matters #

Flat-rate AI subscriptions only work when the vendor can predict usage per seat. Every lab with a popular coding agent has had to defend that assumption, first with rate limits, then with weekly caps, now with identity checks like card and device limits. Expect more of this across the industry, and expect metered credits to become the sanctioned way to buy extra capacity. For subscribers, the lesson is to plan around one account per person and treat credits as the overflow valve.

Details reflect OpenAI's Help Center page and press coverage as of November 1, 2026. Limits and wording can change; check the official article for the current text.

── more in #ai-products 4 stories · sorted by recency
── more on @openai 3 stories trending now
sponsored brought to you by zahid.host 4,200+ EU-deployed projects
reading about agents? ship yours in a single git push.

Run your AI side-project on zahid.host

EU-based hosting, git-push deploys, automatic HTTPS, no cold starts. Free tier with a custom domain — perfect for shipping the agent you just read about.

$git push zahid main
→ Live at https://your-agent.zahid.host ✓
Get free account → Pricing
from €0/mo · no card required
LIVE [news/chatgpt-now-caps-pai…] indexed:0 read:8min 2026-11-01 · —