cd /news/artificial-intelligence/ifa-2026-lg-expands-its-ai-home-arou… · home topics artificial-intelligence article
[ARTICLE · art-119709] src=forgeeks.net ↗ pub= topic=artificial-intelligence verified=true sentiment=· neutral

IFA 2026: LG expands its AI home around ThinQ ON

LG Electronics showcased an expanded AI Home ecosystem at IFA 2026 in Berlin, centered on its ThinQ ON hub and the new ThinQ Claw text-based AI agent, alongside energy-management tools and high-efficiency appliances. The company also introduced ThinQ Pro for commercial spaces and demonstrated a Home Energy Management System powered by Homey, the smart-home platform from Athom, which LG acquired in 2024. LG has not announced US pricing, availability, or launch dates for the products.

read9 min views2 publishedSep 3, 2026
IFA 2026: LG expands its AI home around ThinQ ON
Image: Forgeeks (auto-discovered)

• 8 min read

LG is showing ThinQ ON, ThinQ Claw, energy-management tools, high-efficiency appliances and a 1,000Hz gaming monitor at IFA 2026.

Image: Manilatimes LG is using IFA 2026 in Berlin to show an AI Home ecosystem that links appliances, TVs, HVAC systems, robotics and services through its ThinQ platform. The presentation, announced and shown at the event, focuses on European living spaces and includes new appliance designs, energy-management tools, a text-based AI agent and displays.

Visitors can see the products in LG’s booth in Hall 18 at Messe Berlin during IFA, which runs from September 4–8, 2026. LG has not announced US pricing, US availability or a US launch date for the products described here. The company’s official newsroom provides the release material behind the showcase.

The booth’s organizing idea is “Innovation in tune with you.” LG says its systems use information about users, household conditions, spaces and routines to personalize actions and reduce the work required to operate a home. LG is presenting the home as a coordinated system, with a hub and platform connecting devices across several product categories.

Recommended reading

IFA 2026: Midea targets laundry and floor-care problems

Dan Kowalski • • 4 min read

ThinQ ON gets a public-facing AI agent #

At the center of the AI Home Zone is the next-generation LG ThinQ ON home hub, working with the LG ThinQ AI home platform. LG’s demonstrations place the hub in home environments, where the system is intended to interpret both the user and the characteristics of the space before recommending or carrying out relevant functions.

The main new software element is ThinQ Claw, which is making its public debut at IFA 2026. It is a text-chat-based AI agent integrated with ThinQ ON. LG describes it as combining natural-language interaction with contextual understanding to recommend relevant actions and simplify routine tasks. The company’s examples focus on personalized support based on household conditions, preferences and daily routines, but the release does not specify the underlying model, supported languages, local-processing capabilities, cloud requirements or the actions ThinQ Claw can execute without confirmation.

LG is also showing the connected system as part of its “Zero Labor Home” vision. A 16-by-4-meter kinetic LED installation at the booth entrance depicts LG CLOiD as the conductor of an “AI Orchestra,” coordinating a range of LG products and services. The installation covers home appliances, TVs, HVAC and robotics, rather than demonstrating a single device or protocol.

For businesses, ThinQ Pro extends the same idea beyond private residences. The B2B management system provides centralized control and monitoring of appliances and HVAC systems, with the stated goal of improving facility operations. LG’s materials do not give subscription pricing, deployment limits, supported third-party hardware or an API specification for ThinQ Pro. The company is also demonstrating a Home Energy Management System powered by Homey, the smart-home platform developed by Athom, which LG acquired in 2024. The demonstration coordinates energy generation, storage and consumption across a home. LG identifies the functions being coordinated but does not disclose the compatible generation or storage hardware, response times or whether the system is available independently of LG’s appliance ecosystem.

Demonstration Connected scope Specific capability disclosed by LG
ThinQ Claw with ThinQ ON Consumer home Text chat, contextual understanding and recommended actions
ThinQ Pro Commercial spaces Centralized monitoring and control of appliances and HVAC
Homey-powered HEMS Home energy systems Coordination of generation, storage and consumption
LG AI Orchestra with CLOiD Appliances, TVs, HVAC and robotics Kinetic installation illustrating a connected AI Home

The table shows the split in LG’s strategy: ThinQ Claw is a user-facing interaction layer, ThinQ Pro is an operational tool for businesses, and Homey HEMS focuses on energy coordination. They are presented together at IFA, but LG has not said that all three are sold as one product or governed by the same commercial plan.

Fit & Max targets European kitchens and laundry rooms #

LG’s Fit & Max Solution is expanding beyond selected refrigerators to washing machines, dryers and dishwashers. The design goal is to deliver a built-in-style appearance and more capacity without increasing the appliance’s external footprint, a trade-off that matters in European kitchens and utility spaces where cabinet alignment and depth are tightly constrained.

LG says the refrigerator and laundry demonstrations pair an integrated appearance with flexible storage or larger loads. Its release gives two capacity comparisons for a washing machine: capacity is increased by 3 kilograms versus the F4J8J**** at 600 millimeters deep and by 2 kilograms versus the F4J8V****** at 550 millimeters deep. The company cautions that actual capacity varies by model.

New Fit & Max dishwashers are also on display. LG says some can complete a full wash-and-dry cycle in one hour, but that figure is an algorithm setting rather than a guaranteed operating time. The company says surrounding conditions can change the actual duration, and adding options increases the total time. That qualification matters for anyone comparing cycle claims: the one-hour figure describes a selected program under stated conditions, not a universal maximum for every load or configuration. LG has not supplied product model numbers, prices or US availability for the Fit & Max appliances in the IFA material.

More appliances get the high-efficiency hardware #

LG’s Energy Leadership Zone presents appliances using the company’s Dual Inverter Heat Pump, inverter compressor and Direct Drive motor technologies. The stated strategy is to move technologies that previously appeared on flagship products into a broader portfolio, making high-efficiency appliances available to more European consumers.

One washing machine claim is especially specific. Under the Eco 40-60 program, LG says its Energy Efficiency Index is 70 percent lower than the minimum EEI requirement for Class A under EU Regulation 2019/2014. That is a comparison against the regulatory threshold, not a claim that the appliance consumes 70 percent less energy than every other Class A washer. LG also says results vary with load, program and usage conditions.

The zone includes high-efficiency refrigerators, dryers and dishwashers as well. The release describes the products as using fewer energy resources while maintaining performance, but it does not provide watt-hour figures, annual consumption values or a model-by-model comparison. That leaves the 70-percent EEI claim as the most measurable efficiency figure in the announcement, while independent test data is not supplied.

OLED, Micro RGB and a 1,000Hz monitor #

LG’s Media Entertainment Zone uses a gallery concept rather than a conventional product wall. Its centerpiece is the LG OLED W6, a wallpaper-style OLED TV with True Wireless, surrounded by TVs of different sizes that transition between screens as one media installation.

The 2026 LG OLED evo AI and Micro RGB evo AI displays are powered by the α11 AI Processor 4K Gen3. LG highlights brightness and color accuracy for both, while the Micro RGB evo AI is promoted for its “High Purity RGB Spectrum Display,” which the company says is certified by TÜV Rheinland for color purity.

Those processor and certification details establish the platform LG is using, but the announcement does not list peak brightness, contrast, color-volume measurements, panel refresh rates or input latency. The marketing language therefore cannot yet be treated as a head-to-head performance result against other televisions.

The show also includes what LG calls the world’s first UltraGear monitor supporting both FHD resolution and a 1,000Hz refresh rate. LG’s footnote limits that distinction to gaming monitors introduced by consumer brands in publicly available information as of May 19, 2026. The release does not name the monitor model, explain the interface or signal conditions required to reach 1,000Hz, or state whether that mode carries a resolution, image-quality or feature limitation.

LG is extending the entertainment area with webOS content experiences, a demonstration of the StanbyME 2 Max and a listening space for the Sound Suite home audio system. It has not provided US pricing or launch information for those products in the IFA announcement.

SIGNATURE appliances add recognition features #

The LG SIGNATURE zone combines the company’s design language with appliance-specific AI features. The LG SIGNATURE refrigerator uses AI voice recognition to understand conversational language and recommend refrigeration modes for different food items.

The 30-inch LG SIGNATURE wall oven combines an internal AI camera with AI Gourmet. LG says the oven can recognize different dishes and suggest an optimal cooking mode. The release does not state how many dishes the recognition system supports, whether processing occurs locally, or whether users must accept the suggested mode manually.

LG’s broader pitch is that these features should make appliances responsive to context rather than dependent on fixed commands. The practical questions are the same ones that apply to ThinQ Claw: model-level compatibility, privacy and processing details, software support, pricing and the extent to which the features work outside controlled demonstrations.

“At IFA 2026, we are showcasing how our expanded AI Home ecosystem can seamlessly connect AI appliances, home hubs and intelligent services to provide exceptionally convenient and personalized customer experiences. With differentiated products and solutions tailored to European lifestyles and living environments, we will continue to strengthen our leadership in the European premium home appliance market.”

LG’s IFA display brings together several layers: ThinQ ON and ThinQ Claw for interaction, ThinQ Pro for commercial management, Homey for energy coordination, Fit & Max for space-constrained homes, and new display and SIGNATURE products for entertainment and premium appliances. LG has disclosed neither pricing nor availability for the showcased lineup, and several headline performance claims remain dependent on conditions or company-defined comparisons.

Frequently asked questions #

When can I buy LG ThinQ Claw?+ #

LG has shown ThinQ Claw publicly at IFA 2026 but has not announced pricing, a release date or US availability.

Does the one-hour LG dishwasher cycle always take one hour?+ #

No. LG says the one-hour figure is an algorithm setting; operating conditions can change the duration, and added options increase the total time.

Is LG’s 1,000Hz monitor available in the US?+ #

The IFA announcement does not provide a model number, price or US availability date for the UltraGear monitor.

What does LG ThinQ Pro do?+ #

ThinQ Pro is LG’s B2B management solution for centralized control and monitoring of appliances and HVAC systems in commercial spaces.

Dan Kowalski Frontier Editor

Dan is our resident futurist, covering electric mobility, space exploration, and the smart home. He's interested in atoms just as much as bits. Whether it's a new battery chemistry, a reusable rocket, or a protocol that finally makes IoT devices talk to each other, Dan breaks down the engineering that pushes humanity forward.

── more in #artificial-intelligence 4 stories · sorted by recency
── more on @lg electronics 3 stories trending now
sponsored brought to you by zahid.host 4,200+ EU-deployed projects
reading about agents? ship yours in a single git push.

Run your AI side-project on zahid.host

EU-based hosting, git-push deploys, automatic HTTPS, no cold starts. Free tier with a custom domain — perfect for shipping the agent you just read about.

$git push zahid main
Live at https://your-agent.zahid.host
Get free account → Pricing
from €0/mo · no card required
LIVE [news/ifa-2026-lg-expands-…] indexed:0 read:9min 2026-09-03 ·