Copilot Lands in Xcode and JetBrains Air in 2 Days [2026] GitHub announced on Nov. 3, 2026 that Copilot is available as a selectable agent in JetBrains Air, and on Nov. 4, 2026 that Copilot entered public preview in Xcode's built-in coding assistant, starting with Xcode 27.3 beta (build 27C5020n) and requiring macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later. The JetBrains Air route runs through the Agent Client Protocol and bills against a Copilot plan the developer already holds, while all Copilot plans are supported in the Xcode preview; both launches followed GitHub's Oct. 28 general availability of connected cloud sessions and Copilot Fusion. GitHub's excerpts do not confirm whether Copilot Fusion works in Xcode or name a model line-up for the Xcode integration, leaving model choice there unconfirmed. GitHub Copilot https://shattered.io/claude-code-vs-cursor-vs-github-copilot-pricing-limits-2026/ reached two editors Microsoft does not own inside 48 hours. On Nov. 3, 2026, GitHub announced Copilot as a selectable agent in JetBrains Air, and on Nov. 4 it announced Copilot inside Xcode’s built-in coding assistant. One developer writeup https://dev.to/paullovelace/github-copilot-just-stopped-being-a-vs-code-thing-bn2 summed it up as Copilot no longer being a VS Code product, and the release notes back that reading. The GitHub Copilot Xcode integration is a public preview that starts with Xcode 27.3 beta and needs macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later. The JetBrains Air route runs through the Agent Client Protocol and bills against a Copilot plan the developer already holds. Both launches landed one week after GitHub shipped connected cloud sessions and made Copilot Fusion generally available https://shattered.io/github-copilot-fusion-ga-three-effort-tiers-30-percent-discount-2026/ on Oct. 28. The takeaway: this is a distribution story, not a model story. No new model arrived on Nov. 3 or Nov. 4. What changed is where a Copilot session can start, where it can run, and which bill it lands on. That is worth more scrutiny than a benchmark bump, because it decides which tools a team can standardize on. Don't miss new tech stories on Google Add Shattered once in the Google app and our stories show up in your news suggestions. Add now https://www.google.com/preferences/source?hl=en&q=https%3A%2F%2Fshattered.io%2F What GitHub Shipped in Two Days Three dated releases make up the story, and they stack on each other. The first is the Oct. 28 connected cloud experience. The second is the Nov. 3 JetBrains Air integration. The third is the Nov. 4 Xcode preview. Each one widens the set of places where a developer can reach the same agent. - Oct. 28, 2026: Copilot cloud tasks became generally available on paid plans. A task can start on GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, the Copilot app, Copilot CLI, VS Code, Slack or Microsoft Teams, then resume on another supported surface. - Nov. 3, 2026: GitHub Copilot became available in JetBrains Air, where it runs locally in the IDE or in the cloud through Air Teams. - Nov. 4, 2026: GitHub Copilot entered public preview in Xcode’s built-in coding assistant, beginning with Xcode 27.3 beta. All Copilot plans are supported. GitHub’s own Xcode changelog entry was revised on Nov. 6, which tells you the rollout is still moving. The existing GitHub Copilot for Xcode extension stays available as a separate option, so Mac developers now have two paths to the same assistant in the same editor. One gap matters for planning. The official excerpts confirm Copilot availability in Xcode, but they do not say whether Copilot Fusion works there, and they name no model line-up for the Xcode integration. Anyone writing a rollout plan should treat model choice inside Xcode as unconfirmed until GitHub documents it. GitHub Copilot Xcode Preview: Requirements and Setup The Xcode integration is a preview in the strict sense. You need the beta, and the beta needs a recent operating system. Apple’s release listing shows Xcode 27.3 beta build 27C5020n dated Nov. 3, 2026. The newest stable release on that list is Xcode 27.2 build 27B52 , dated Oct. 29. A team that only installs stable Xcode builds cannot use the built-in Copilot route today. Setup takes a few minutes. Download Xcode 27.3 beta from Apple Developer Downloads on a Mac running macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later, then open Xcode, go to Settings, choose Intelligence, and add GitHub Copilot to the coding assistant. GitHub says every Copilot plan is supported, which removes the usual premium-tier gate on new features. Apple’s recent cadence explains why timing matters. Xcode 27 shipped on Sept. 14 build 27A266a , Xcode 27.1 followed on Oct. 15 build 27A9275 , and Xcode 27.2 arrived on Oct. 29. That is a point release roughly every two weeks. A beta that depends on 27.3 will likely graduate to stable on a timeline Apple sets, not GitHub. Neither company has published a date in the sources reviewed here. The choice between the built-in assistant and the older GitHub Copilot for Xcode extension is the practical decision for Swift teams. The built-in route removes an extension to install and update. The extension works on whatever Xcode build you already run. GitHub has not announced a retirement for the extension, so both are live, and a team can trial the built-in option on one machine without touching the rest of the fleet. GitHub Copilot JetBrains Air: How the Integration Works JetBrains Air is the company’s agentic development workspace, and it already hosted JetBrains’ own agent, Junie. According to JetBrains’ PyCharm 2026.3 post https://blog.jetbrains.com/pycharm/2026/11/what-s-new-in-pycharm-2026-3/ , Air now lets developers pick GitHub Copilot, OpenCode, Pi, Cline and other agents that speak the Agent Client Protocol from an agent selector. Copilot is one choice among several, not the default. Under the hood, the GitHub Copilot JetBrains Air integration uses the official GitHub Copilot CLI through the Agent Client Protocol. Developers can delegate a task, steer the run, and review the result inside Air. A task can run locally against local files, tools, Docker and worktrees, or it can go to the cloud through Air Teams and keep running after the laptop closes. Cloud tasks carry stricter requirements than local ones. Per GitHub’s Nov. 3 changelog, you need a JetBrains account inside an Air Teams-enabled business organization, a GitHub Copilot subscription, and an administrator who has enabled the feature. Each cloud task runs in a Docker container on a fresh virtual machine. Traffic passes through a proxy, and task state does not carry over from one task to the next. That last detail is a design choice with consequences. A clean machine per task limits cross-contamination between runs, which security teams like. It also means an agent cannot lean on leftover caches or half-built artifacts from a previous run, so tasks that need long warm-up will pay that cost every time. JetBrains documentation still labels Air in IDEs an Early Access Program plugin, according to the facts reviewed on Nov. 5. Expect rough edges. For a head-to-head view of how JetBrains tools and VS Code differ on pricing and agent support, see this Zed, VS Code and JetBrains comparison https://shattered.io/zed-vs-vscode-vs-jetbrains-pricing-agents-2026/ . Who Pays: Copilot Plans, AI Credits and the Air Billing Split Billing is where the two launches differ most from older Copilot features. GitHub moved Copilot to usage-based billing on June 1, 2026, according to a detailed agents explainer on clouddev.blog https://clouddev.blog/GitHub/Copilot/github-copilot-agents-part-2-harnesses-the-agent-host-cloud-sandboxes-and-ai-credits-explained/ . One GitHub AI Credit equals $0.01, and metered model usage is priced from input, output and cached tokens at the selected model’s rates. GitHub’s pricing page spells out the budget mechanics. Every plan includes a monthly allowance. Users can set a dollar budget for extra usage so work continues without interruption, and a $10 budget covers 1,000 credits. Alerts fire at 75%, 90% and 100% of any configured budget. Those controls apply wherever Copilot runs, which now includes Xcode and Air. Reported list prices, which GitHub has not confirmed in the sources reviewed, put Copilot Pro at $10 a month, Pro+ at $39, Max at $100, Business at $19 per seat and Enterprise at $39 per seat. Treat those as a snapshot, not a quote. For a deeper look at how credits meter different agents, read this breakdown of Copilot pricing and AI credits https://shattered.io/github-copilot-pricing-ai-credits-claude-codex-agents-2026/ . JetBrains uses a different unit. Air’s documentation, last modified Nov. 4, says model costs are calculated at one AI credit per US dollar of provider-side cost, and regular purchased credits expire after 12 months. Put next to GitHub’s $0.01 credit, the two vendors count in units a hundred times apart. A developer comparing a credit balance in Air against one in Copilot is comparing different currencies. The key point for buyers: when Copilot runs inside Air, the usage is charged to the user’s existing Copilot plan, not to JetBrains AI credits. JetBrains also lists an Air Business plan at $20 per seat per month, a free Basic plan for organization functions, and Enterprise pricing on request, per its documentation. A team using Copilot in Air therefore needs both a Copilot seat and an Air Teams organization for cloud tasks. The Cloud Sessions Layer Under Both Launches The Oct. 28 connected cloud experience is what makes the Nov. 3 and Nov. 4 launches more than editor plugins. Sessions run by default in secure cloud sandboxes and can resume from their previous state. A developer can start a refactor from GitHub Mobile, steer it from VS Code, and review it on GitHub.com without restarting the work. Enjoy’s Universe 2026 recap https://enjoy.dev/blog/github-universe-2026-copilot/ frames the shift as Copilot moving to the cloud, with sandboxes billing from November. Access depends on the plan. The connected cloud experience is generally available on paid Copilot plans. Copilot Free keeps Copilot Chat on GitHub.com and GitHub Mobile but has to upgrade for the updated cloud experience. For enterprises, GitHub also changed packaging on Oct. 28: Enterprise customers can use Copilot features without buying a separate Copilot subscription, and usage is billed through AI credits. Cloud sandbox billing began in November 2026 and draws from a shared compute entitlement. GitHub changed the included Actions allowance from a fixed number of standard-runner minutes to a shared, dollar-based pool. The change applies to GitHub Free, Pro, Free for organizations, Team and Enterprise Cloud, while larger hosted runners stay limited to Team and Enterprise Cloud. The official excerpts do not state an exact start date, per-unit rates or overage prices, so finance teams should wait for those numbers before forecasting. Air Teams plays the same role on the JetBrains side. It gives Copilot a sandboxed cloud machine that keeps working after the user closes the laptop. The two systems are separate products with separate billing paths, but the pattern matches: the agent lives on a managed machine, and the editor becomes one of several windows onto it. VS Code Agent Host: The Architecture Behind the Shift VS Code introduced the Agent Host on Aug. 26, 2026, in a post by Rob Lourens, Connor Peet and Brigit Murtaugh. VS Code describes it as a dedicated process that owns agent sessions, separate from any single editor window. Close the window or the project folder, and the session keeps running. That is the same idea the cloud sessions apply at a larger scale. The Agent Host is enabled in the latest VS Code Stable and Insiders builds. The Copilot harness, which merged the former local VS Code harness with the Copilot CLI harness, became the default for new sessions in the editor and the Agents window in October. Claude and Codex harnesses remain available through the Agent Host, each using its provider’s own runtime. For an earlier look at how this process model reached containers, see the VS Code 1.137 dev container coverage https://shattered.io/vs-code-1-137-agent-host-dev-containers-2026/ . The Agent Host Protocol The Agent Host Protocol, or AHP, reached version 1.0 on Oct. 28 alongside VS Code 1.144, according to The CODEW’s Nov. 5 developer tools digest https://www.thecodew.com/2026/11/developer-tools-watch-november-5.html . VS Code’s own post says it built AHP on its experience with the Language Server Protocol and the Debug Adapter Protocol. The host owns the authoritative state, so several clients can watch and steer one session instead of each keeping its own copy. The protocol is open, and VS Code lists client languages of TypeScript, Rust, Go, Kotlin and Swift. Kotlin and Swift line up with the JetBrains and Apple ecosystems, but no source reviewed ties the Air or Xcode launches to AHP. Air uses the Agent Client Protocol instead. Read the language list as an invitation, not as confirmation of a plan. Connecting a remote machine VS Code’s cloud sandbox documentation gives one command for turning a machine you control into an Agent Host. The remote machine and its host process must stay running for sessions to persist. code agent host --github-environment That makes the Agent Host the self-managed counterpart to GitHub’s managed sandboxes. Teams with strict data rules can keep agent execution on their own hardware, while teams that want zero maintenance can take the cloud default. Both options feed the same session list. Copilot Fusion Across Editors and Model Routing Copilot Fusion became generally available on Oct. 28 in VS Code, the Copilot app, Copilot CLI and JetBrains IDEs, on all Copilot plans. Users pick an effort level Fusion Standard, Fusion High or Fusion Max instead of a specific model, and Fusion decides how to spread a task across one or more models. In JetBrains IDEs it replaced the Auto model option. It also replaced the research-preview names HydraFusion and HydraFusion Max. Fusion is not free routing. It bills each model it uses at that model’s standard rate. Paid plans get a limited-time 30% discount on model costs, which the CODEW digest says runs through Nov. 30, 2026. After that date, a Fusion run costs whatever the underlying models cost, so heavy users should record their spend now to see what the discount hides. GitHub also describes experimental routing between supported on-device models and cloud models. A VS Code fix merged around Nov. 5 lets Auto and Fusion pick an on-device model and fall back to the cloud when needed. For teams in regulated industries, local routing is the part to watch, because it could keep some prompts off the network. Model churn continues around Fusion. GitHub announced on Oct. 15 that selected models will be deprecated across Copilot on Nov. 16, 2026, and named Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna as suggested replacements. Claude Opus 4.8 stays available to individual subscribers on annual plans. Reportedly, the retiring list includes Claude Opus 4.8, Claude Opus 5 and GPT-5.6 Terra, though that detail rests on a single source. Check GitHub’s changelog before pinning any model in a team config. Surface-by-Surface Status: Where Copilot Runs Today The table below collects the confirmed state of each surface as of Nov. 6, 2026. It uses only dated items from GitHub, Apple, JetBrains and VS Code pages. | Surface | Copilot status | Date | Main gate | |---|---|---|---| | GitHub.com and GitHub Mobile | Connected cloud sessions, generally available | Oct. 28 | Paid Copilot plan Free keeps Chat | | VS Code | Start and resume cloud sessions, Agent Host, Fusion | Oct. 28 | Current Stable or Insiders build | | Copilot CLI | Cloud sessions, Fusion | Oct. 28 | Paid plan for cloud sessions | | Copilot app | Projects public preview , Fusion | Oct. 28 | Paid plan for cloud sessions | | Slack and Microsoft Teams | Start cloud tasks | Oct. 28 | Paid plan | | JetBrains IDEs | Fusion replaces Auto, rolling out | Oct. 28 | All Copilot plans | | JetBrains Air | Copilot selectable as an agent via ACP | Nov. 3 | Copilot subscription, plus Air Teams org and admin for cloud tasks | | Xcode | Built-in coding assistant, public preview | Nov. 4 | Xcode 27.3 beta, macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later | Read the table by gate, not by date. The Oct. 28 rows mostly need a paid plan. The Nov. 3 and Nov. 4 rows add organizational or operating-system conditions on top. A small team on a stable Xcode build and a Free Copilot plan sits outside almost every row. Competitive Comparison: Copilot, Junie and the ACP Field Copilot’s arrival in Air changes the competitive picture inside JetBrains’ own workspace. Junie is JetBrains’ agent, and the PyCharm 2026.3 post says a Junie Lite configuration gives free AI use with only a JetBrains Account. Developers can also bring existing provider subscriptions, API keys and custom base URLs without a JetBrains AI subscription. Copilot is now one of several routes into the same window. | Agent route | Where it sits | Billing path | |---|---|---| | GitHub Copilot in Air | Air app and Air Teams cloud tasks | Existing Copilot plan, not JetBrains AI credits | | Junie Lite in Air | JetBrains’ own agent | Free AI use with a JetBrains Account | | OpenCode, Pi, Cline ACP agents | Selectable in Air’s agent selector | Own provider subscription or API key | | Claude and Codex harnesses in VS Code | Agent Host sessions | Provider-specific runtime and billing | | GitHub Copilot in Xcode | Built-in coding assistant preview | Any Copilot plan | Rivals face a different problem. Cursor and Claude Code each own their interface, so they cannot simply drop into a competitor’s editor. A side-by-side on GitHub Copilot versus Claude Code https://shattered.io/github-copilot-vs-claude-code-2026/ covers that trade-off for seat prices and cloud agents, and the Copilot versus Cursor model race https://shattered.io/github-copilot-vs-cursor-4-models-8-days-2026/ shows how fast the model layer moves. The new launches push Copilot toward being the neutral layer that rides inside everyone else’s editor. Consolidation is another pressure. Meta’s purchase of Conductor, covered in a separate report on Meta’s Conductor deal and cloud shutdown https://shattered.io/meta-acquires-conductor-ai-coding-agents-cloud-shutdown-nov-20-2026/ , shows that agent orchestration startups are being absorbed. A vendor with the editor, the cloud sandbox and the billing relationship, as GitHub now has, can fold that orchestration into the product. How Copilot Got Here: A 2026 Timeline The expansion looks sudden, but the groundwork spans 2026. The table lists the dated steps confirmed by GitHub, VS Code and Apple pages. | Date 2026 | Event | Why it matters | |---|---|---| | Aug. 26 | VS Code introduces the Agent Host and AHP | Sessions detach from editor windows | | Oct. 15 | GitHub announces mid-November model deprecations | Model line-up resets on Nov. 16 | | Oct. 15 | Xcode 27.1 ships build 27A9275 | Start of Apple’s fast point-release run | | Oct. 28 | Connected cloud sessions go GA on paid plans | One session, many clients | | Oct. 28 | Copilot Fusion GA, AHP 1.0, Enterprise packaging change | Routing, protocol and billing change together | | Oct. 29 | Xcode 27.2 ships build 27B52 | Newest stable Xcode on Apple’s list | | Nov. 3 | Copilot arrives in JetBrains Air, Xcode 27.3 beta released | Copilot inside a JetBrains-owned agent workspace | | Nov. 4 | Copilot enters Xcode’s coding assistant in preview | Apple-native distribution | | Nov. 16 | Scheduled model deprecations take effect | Teams must repoint pinned models | Earlier in the year, VS Code moved to weekly Stable releases and added Autopilot with version 1.111 on March 9, according to the clouddev.blog explainer. That cadence matters here. When the editor ships weekly and Apple ships every two weeks, a cross-editor agent has to adapt faster than any single IDE vendor. Market Impact: Distribution Beats Features For years the AI coding market argued about which model wrote better code. The Nov. 3 and Nov. 4 launches shift the argument to reach. If an agent runs inside VS Code, JetBrains Air, Xcode, a terminal, a phone and a chat app, switching costs rise because the session history, memory and billing all sit in one account. That is a moat that does not depend on winning the next benchmark. Swift developers are the clearest new audience. The GitHub Copilot Xcode preview gives GitHub a path into iOS and macOS teams that previously relied on a separate extension. JetBrains users get a similar benefit, because GitHub Copilot JetBrains Air support puts Copilot’s cloud tasks next to JetBrains’ own agent. Pricing is the lever that decides who benefits. The Enterprise change on Oct. 28 lets customers use Copilot features without a separate Copilot subscription, paying through AI credits. That nudges large buyers from per-seat licensing toward metered spend, which is easier to start and harder to forecast. The same logic runs through the field, as the Claude Code, Codex CLI and OpenCode update run https://shattered.io/claude-code-codex-cli-opencode-update-4-days-2026/ shows with its steady stream of agent releases. Readers tracking the wider AI coding tools and developer software https://shattered.io/category/software/ beat will see the same pattern in each launch: more surfaces, more metering, fewer flat fees. Budget owners should assume agent spend grows with usage and plan alerts accordingly. The 75%, 90% and 100% budget alerts GitHub offers are the cheapest guardrail available. Risks and Open Questions in the Announcements Several things remain undefined, and a careful rollout should list them before enabling anything for a whole team. The table separates what sources confirm from what they leave open. | Question | What sources confirm | Status | |---|---|---| | Is Fusion available inside Xcode? | Only Copilot availability in Xcode’s assistant is confirmed | Not established | | Is Fusion available in Air? | Fusion GA lists VS Code, the Copilot app, CLI and JetBrains IDEs | Not established for Air | | Exact sandbox billing start date and rates | Billing begins in November 2026 on a shared compute entitlement | Rates not stated | | Stable Xcode release with Copilot | Preview begins with Xcode 27.3 beta | No date published | | Future of the Copilot for Xcode extension | Remains a separate option | No retirement announced | | Air in IDEs maturity | Documented as an Early Access Program plugin | Beta-grade | Sandbox security is a default, not a guarantee The clouddev.blog explainer warns that security checks in these systems are defaults and not an absolute guarantee, and it notes that a Git worktree separates changes but does not isolate the agent from the rest of your machine. That caution fits both launches. Local runs in Air and in VS Code touch real files, so permission settings deserve the same care as any build tool with shell access. Two Xcode paths, one team Running both the built-in assistant and the extension on one team invites confusion over which holds the chat history, which respects repository instructions, and which counts toward usage. Pilot one path first. Pick a small group, write down what each route sees, and compare spend over a billing cycle before widening access. Five Predictions for the Next 90 Days These are editorial judgments, not reported facts. They follow from the launch pattern and carry real uncertainty. 1. Xcode support reaches Fusion. GitHub shipped Fusion everywhere else within days of the Universe event, so extending it to the Xcode assistant looks like a short step once the preview stabilizes. 2. The Xcode preview graduates with a stable Xcode point release. Apple’s two-week cadence makes a stable build that carries the feature likely within a few releases, though Apple controls the timing. 3. Air in IDEs leaves Early Access. JetBrains already moved governance features out of EAP into paid plans, which signals a push toward general availability. 4. Sandbox billing draws complaints. A shared, dollar-based compute pool with no published per-unit rates in the excerpts reviewed will produce surprise invoices for early adopters, and GitHub will likely publish clearer rate tables. 5. Rivals copy the neutral-layer play. Expect more agents to ship as Agent Client Protocol clients so they can sit inside Air-style workspaces, which would blunt Copilot’s distribution edge. What Developers and Teams Should Do This Week Start with an inventory. List which editors your team uses, which Copilot plan each person holds, and whether anyone depends on a model scheduled for deprecation on Nov. 16. That single sheet answers most rollout questions before a pilot begins. - Swift teams: trial the GitHub Copilot Xcode preview on one Mac running macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later with Xcode 27.3 beta, and keep the extension on everyone else. - JetBrains shops: confirm whether your organization already has an Air Teams account, because cloud tasks need it plus admin enablement. - Finance and platform leads: set a dollar budget with alerts at 75%, 90% and 100%, and log Fusion spend before the 30% discount ends on Nov. 30. - Security owners: review which repositories an agent can reach, and keep sensitive code on self-managed Agent Hosts if policy demands it. Document the result of each pilot in plain terms: time saved on a real task, credits spent, and any permission surprises. Those three numbers will tell you more than any vendor demo. Frequently Asked Questions Is GitHub Copilot available in Xcode? Yes, in public preview. GitHub announced it on Nov. 4, 2026, inside Xcode’s built-in coding assistant, beginning with Xcode 27.3 beta. It supports all Copilot plans. What do I need to use GitHub Copilot in Xcode? A Mac running macOS Tahoe 26.6 or later and Xcode 27.3 beta, downloaded from Apple Developer Downloads. Set it up under Xcode, Settings, Intelligence. Does the new Xcode integration replace the GitHub Copilot for Xcode extension? No. GitHub describes the extension as a separate option that remains available, and no retirement has been announced in the sources reviewed. Does Copilot in JetBrains Air cost extra? Usage is charged to your existing Copilot plan, not to JetBrains AI credits. Cloud tasks additionally require a JetBrains account in an Air Teams-enabled business organization and administrator enablement. Can Copilot Free users run cloud agent sessions? Not the updated experience. The connected cloud experience is generally available on paid plans, and Copilot Free keeps Copilot Chat on GitHub.com and GitHub Mobile. What is the VS Code Agent Host? A dedicated process that owns agent sessions so they survive closed editor windows. It speaks the open Agent Host Protocol, which reached version 1.0 on Oct. 28, 2026. When does cloud sandbox billing start? GitHub says billing for cloud sandbox usage begins in November 2026 and draws from a shared compute entitlement. The official excerpts reviewed do not give an exact date or per-unit rates. Is Copilot Fusion available in Xcode? The sources confirm Fusion in VS Code, the Copilot app, Copilot CLI and JetBrains IDEs. They do not establish Fusion inside Xcode’s assistant.